a different life

One of the reasons that I started this blog was to be able to write about how I feel about food and health and life and work.  But I was scared, because in my life outside of the vast internet, I am constantly criticized and put down for my values.  Instead of celebrating the fact that I make time to exercise almost every night after I work a full 8 hour day, I find myself lying and saying I have an “appointment.”  Instead of sharing my excitement for fresh, local food by bringing a friend to the farmers’ market on my lunch break, I sneak away and don’t tell anyone where I go.  I thought that there was something wrong with me – something off about my priorities and the things I value above work and career.

Until today, when I clicked on a link on Facebook, not even knowing what it was.  But it was just what I needed.  Someone else who feels the same way and a chorus of agreeing comments.  And while this might not change my day to day actions, it will make me feel less guilt about wanting a different life than the one the people around me want me to have.

One response to “a different life

  1. Pingback: live, learn, & eat·

Leave a Reply

